Sunday, December 21, 2014

Replica Free Through Christmas!

http://www.amazon.com/Replica-Short-Story-Trevor-Schmidt-ebook/dp/B00EFYYYAE/ref=asap_B005B02R1O?ie=UTF8Whether you're just looking for something to read or you're looking to try out that new e-reader you received for Christmas, I have a great story for you to read.  The best part, it's free in the kindle store through Dec 25th!  Here's a synopsis of the ebook to whet your appetite:

"In the year 2054, Army Sergeant Logan Martel hunts for an insurgent plotting a horrific attack on the West. It is in this world of high-tech equipment and prolific robotics that Logan finds himself set adrift, searching for what's left of his own humanity. Will he find what he's looking for? Or will he become merely a replica of his former self?"

Here's what one blogger had to say about Replica:

"Trevor Schmidt, author of the cool sci-fi thriller Memory Leak, returns to the genre with this short story which follows a team of futuristic soldiers in their pursuit of a notorious terrorist.

This quick easy read is a cautionary tale regarding the development of future technology and is ideal lunch-break or commute reading that will appeal to fans of the Terminator movies."

-Ric's Reviews

 After you pick up your copy, it would be great if you left a simple review on Amazon or Goodreads

Thursday, December 18, 2014

The Corsair Uprising #1: The Azure Key is Out Now!

http://www.amazon.com/Azure-Key-Corsair-Uprising-Book-ebook/dp/B00R0DPNMA/ref=asap_B005B02R1O?ie=UTF8I'm happy to announce that the first installment of my new science fiction series is out today!  It is entitled The Corsair Uprising: The Azure Key.  The Corsair Uprising series falls under the Space Opera heading but has a lot of Steampunk elements as well.  Please check it out and if you pick it up, be sure to give an honest review on Amazon.

Synopsis:
"Liam Kidd was a freelancer for Vesta Corporation, Earth’s largest and most corrupt asteroid mining company. Through a series of events he finds himself working the mines, a fate worse than death. When an opportunity presents itself, he and two other miners escape through a nearby wormhole. They find themselves across the galaxy in the middle of a conflict between three alien species. Liam’s only chance of getting home lies in finding a device rumored to be capable of opening a singularity. Now, he and his crew must face the horrors of war to return to their own system, a challenge that might prove deadly."

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Symbiote Free on Amazon until the 23rd!

http://www.amazon.com/Symbiote-Trevor-Schmidt-ebook/dp/B00NDB1LTW/ref=la_B005B02R1O_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1413813925&sr=1-3
Get your copy of my latest Science Fiction Novel "Symbiote" Free until November 23rd on Amazon.  All I ask is that you leave an honest review! Here's a synopsis to whet your appetite:

"When a normally meek Bay Area insurance agent suddenly turns into a voracious, homicidal maniac with an uncontrollable appetite, doctors quickly determine that the cause must be a brain parasite that can only be extra-terrestrial. Now, San Francisco Police Detectives Karen Hall and Yuri Markov are on a mission to end this wave of violence before more citizens become infected. But at every turn their investigation seems to be hindered by shadowy federal agents with a hidden agenda. Can they stop this reign of terror before one of them becomes the next Symbiote?"

Remember, my next novel, the first in an all new Science Fiction Series debuts this December!

Sunday, September 7, 2014

Replica: Free Short Story!

http://www.amazon.com/Replica-Short-Story-Trevor-Schmidt-ebook/dp/B00EFYYYAE/ref=la_B005B02R1O_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1410100247&sr=1-3
For a limited time, get Replica, a science fiction short story, for FREE on Amazon!  The promotion runs from 9/7/2014-9/11/2014, so pick up a copy, tell your friends, and if you enjoy my writing, please pick up a copy of my newest novel Symbiote.

Here's a blurb about Replica: A Short Story.

"In the year 2054, Army Sergeant Logan Martel hunts for an insurgent plotting a horrific attack on the West. It is in this world of high-tech equipment and prolific robotics that Logan finds himself set adrift, searching for what's left of his own humanity. Will he find what he's looking for? Or will he become merely a replica of his former self?"

Again, get this story for FREE!

Saturday, September 6, 2014

Symbiote Is Out Now!

http://www.amazon.com/Symbiote-Trevor-Schmidt-ebook/dp/B00NDB1LTW/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1410033654&sr=1-1&keywords=symbiote+schmidt
I'm excited to announce that my newest Science Fiction Novel, Symbiote, is out now on Kindle!  Trade paper version is coming soon.  Please check it out and give it an honest review!

Here's a synopsis: "When a normally meek Bay Area insurance agent suddenly turns into a voracious, homicidal maniac with an uncontrollable appetite, doctors quickly determine that the cause must be a brain parasite that can only be extra-terrestrial. Now, San Francisco Police Detectives Karen Hall and Yuri Markov are on a mission to end this wave of violence before more citizens become infected. But at every turn their investigation seems to be hindered by shadowy federal agents with a hidden agenda. Can they stop this reign of terror before one of them becomes the next Symbiote?"

If you have any questions about my newest novel, please leave a comment in the space below or tweet me @TrevorSSchmidt.

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Book Review: The Evolution of Physics

The Evolution of Physics (Originally published 1938), by Albert Einstein and Leopold Infeld, is a great introduction to physics for those who are not as mathematically inclined, such as yours truly.  I found this book in the bottom of a pile at a used book store, which made it that much more exciting when I began reading.  Einstein was truly a genius in more ways than that which he is commonly known.  He was one of the first to really give the masses a crash course in what physics is really about.

After reading this book I feel I've grasped the basic concepts (Read: everything but the mathematics) of many principles of physics to include the theory of relativity.  As a science fiction author, it gives me great pleasure to be able to talk more intelligently about the subject so I can be better prepared to write harder Sci Fi rather than the mostly soft Sci Fi I've been into thus far in my career.

The beginning of the novel starts with Newton and continues on from there.  Einstein goes through each principle as though he was looking at it through the lens of the time, then continues to show how those theories were modified or disproved and how they were replaced.  Ultimately, he ends with the best understanding of physics at the time, with the understanding that his work would be expanded upon and would grow with time.

I would recommend this novel not just for the layman, but also for any freshman going into a physics program at university to refresh their memory and gain a better understanding of how the master viewed these principles.  It's fascinating to me to be given a window into his thought processes that I can actually understand (without delving into his dense papers on relativity, etc.)

Bookophile Rating of The Evolution of Physics: Excellent (For a novel that helps the lay reader gain a better understanding of physics.  The only thing that put me off was the old spellings of words that were a distraction, such as the continued usage of 'clew.'  I realize this is asinine of me.  I accept that.)

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Looking for Authors to Interview/Guest Bloggers!

Hey everyone!  

Authors: I'm looking to add some new features to Bookophile Reviews. The first such feature is Author Interviews! I'm looking for up and coming or already established authors to do a feature on. If you'd like to be featured on Bookophile Reviews, leave a comment below before Friday, August 22nd for consideration.  

Bloggers: If you'd like to post a guest review of a book, leave a comment or contact me by email (instructions on the contact tab at the top of the page). I'm not too worried about keeping genre-specific, I know I have eclectic tastes.

Readers: Let me know what books you want reviewed in the comments!